Christmas Parties

WEDNESDAY MENS VETERANS will hold their party on Wednesday 4th December. Play will be held in the AFTERNOON from 1pm regardless of the temperature.

THURSDAY MORNING MIXED SOCIAL will hold their Christmas function on Thursday morning 12th December.

Exclusive Coaching Contract

Concern has been expressed to the committee that some members are conducting semi-professional coaching at the club. The Committee would like to remind all members that Eley Park Tennis Club has a Club Professional Coach, Geoff Summers, who is available for a wide range of tennis coaching and related services, including ANZ Tennis Hot Shots, Cardio Tennis, group lessons, private lessons and tennis equipment repairs and sales. Players of all ages from 3yo to all adults are welcome. As part of the contract the Club has with Geoff, he has exclusive rights to all coaching conducted at Eley Park. Members are reminded that they are not to undertake any coaching activity except with members of their immediate family.

Birthday Celebrations

November has been a busy month for special birthdays at the club. Glenda Smith celebrated her 90th birthday. We had three members reaching their 80th birthday.

Glenda Smith 90th Birthday

Glenda Smith 90th Birthday
Glenda Smith (right) with Julie Burke and Judy Lambert

Bev Wood 80th Birthday

Bev Wood 80th Birthday

Brian Dunkley, Club Secretary 80th Birthday

Brian Dunkley 80th Birthday

Allan Davision 80th Birthday

Allan Davision 80th Birthday
Allan Davision with wife Dawn together with their daughter and grand children

Reminder - Club Security

Would members please ensure that if they are the last to leave the tennis courts and/or the clubhouse that the door is locked and the padlock on the gate closed. This also applies to the gate lock at Court 6. This is the third time in the past few weeks that I have found the premises unlocked and next time it could be trashed which would incur maintenance expenses and lots of inconvenience to players. 

50th Anniversary Celebration - 24th September

Eley Park tennis club celebrated its 50th anniversary on Sunday 24th September 2017. Blackburn South tennis club and Bennettswood tennis club began in 1967 as separate entities, they merged in April 2011 and formed the Eley Park tennis club.The club invited Neil Angus (MHR State liberal member for Forest Hill), Denise Massoud (Mayor, City of Whitehorse) and councillor Andrew Davenport (representing Riversdale Ward) to attend the celebration. Approximately 130 past and present players and friends attended. Many of the foundation members from Blackburn South and Bennettswood came along, together with life members who are all now recognised as life members of Eley Park tennis club. Following the official welcome to all our visitors and the recognition of the members who contributed to the formation of the clubs, Neil Angus MHR unveiled a plaque commemorating the 50th anniversary. He congratulated the club for providing such an excellent facility for tennis players in the area. Afternoon tea was served and it was pleasing to see many members and past members renewing acquaintances and enjoying the opportunity to reminisce. Thanks to the members who arranged such a successful day.

50th Anniversary Photo
L-R: Murray McCormack, Neil Angus, Kevin Graham and Denise Massoud

For more photos please click on the image below:
 EPTC 50th Anniversary



The Defibrillator will be located in a metal cabinet near the entrance to the Clubhouse.  The key for the padlock is keyed-alike to the gate key.

Social Tennis

Many current and new members enquire about social tennis. We have opportunities on Wednesday afternoons, Thursday mornings & nights, Saturday afternoon. We are endeavoring to create a regular NIGHT SOCIAL on Wednesday nights, particularly in between night comp seasons. This is a great way to try our courts, get to know a few people and have "a good hit". Visitors are charged the normal $6 visitor fee when accompanied by a member and everyone contributes a few dollars to cover the lights and balls.